A Sunrise Run

(Source)

After making my commitment to run the Diva Half Marathon here on the blog, and subsequently receiving comments from two of my favorite bloggers (!!!) (and possibly the only 2 people that read the blog besides me and my dad – let’s be real, everyone checks their stats) I felt extra committed to sticking to what I said.  (Wow — it’s true what CaitlinHTP says about the blog being a source of accountability)!

I havent been on a training run since last September when I was training for my full marathon, and I havent been on an early morning run since then either.  I feel so guilty when I have to ask my husband for help with the baby in the morning before he goes to work, but this morning I put my big girl panties on and did it.  Of course, he obliged, and I hit the streets at 5:30am.

I did a quick out and back as per Hal Higdon’s training plan.  3.5 miles sounded so short to me, but I guess since I havent done an outdoor run in a while, it started out a bit tougher than I expected.  Plus, I think I was a little bit anxious because I want to be successful in this endeavor.  I did 1.75 miles out and on my way back I got to see the sun come over the horizon. A big smile came across my face, and I relaxed.  I remembered that I’ve been here before – I done this training run and countless others, and that I’ve run multiple half marathons during my training for the full, and that I would be OK.  The rest of my run was enjoyable and seemed effortless.  I finished up at 32:27 with an average pace of 9:32. It should be noted that I don’t intend to win the Diva … I just want to have some fun.

*I generally run between and 8 and 8:30 mile, but learned that for distance races I should add a minute to my pace – what do you all think?

So, first training run in the books, and feeling strong and excited, and remembering this morning to never discount how good a sunrise run can make you feel!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Sunrise Run

  1. Sarah

    I feel you should just take it as it comes!!! And relax as you do it!! And enjoy every minute of your accomplishment !! You will accomplish your goal no matter what. Your morning sounds so perfect !!! Eventually u will get back to your normal time ..just stay positive 🙂

Leave a Reply

