What’s up with that?

   (Source)

The hubs and I love this skit on SNL.  I especially love Jason Sudeikis as the back up dancer in the Adidas track suit.

 

This morning I set out for a run – nothing out of the ordinary – I expected to get a quick 5-miler in, and run some errands before I had to pick up G from camp. I ran out my door, and onto my usual route, noticed that I felt especially strong and had no pain from my recovering injuries. Awesome — great start.

Suddenly I find myself looking at my Garmin which is telling me I’ve covered .49 miles.  Yep.  Half a mile, and I was already ready to quit. What’s up with that? Needless to say, my mind got the better of me and sadly, I only ran 1.5 miles before running straight back into my door.

I find it interesting how a work out can vary so greatly from day-to-day. Just last night I spun my little heart out for almost 90 mins, and loved every sweaty moment of it.  This morning’s experience was very different – despite my strong start, I wound up feeling tired faster, uninterested, and ended up with about a minute slower pace overall than I normally have.

I do think it’s important to encourage yourself throughout a workout when you’re not feeling into it.  I often repeat positive affirmations, remind myself why I’m out there, play games and break my remaining time or distance down into small increments that seem easy to conquer. Today, none of that was working for me. And you know what?  I am OK with that.

It has taken me a long time to get to a place where I can be OK with not getting a full (read; at least 500 calorie burn or at least an hour of sweaty, nasty, dirty work) workout in. For many years I was an all or nothing kind of girl, nearly killing myself in the name of being “skinny enough”. But today I can say I live a healthy, balanced lifestyle … and I am happy!!

For me, I find great comfort in knowing that I do the best I can for my body 95% of the time.  I make healthy food and lifestyle choices as often as I can.  (Green veggies? Check.  Plenty of water? Check.  Daily exercise? Check.)  Knowing that makes me more comfortable with the occasional not so healthy lifestyle choice. (Eating the toddler’s leftover pastina for dinner at 9:00 at night after getting home from a crazy day instead of steaming broccoli and broiling tofu?  Check.  Turning back in from your run after completing less than half of your goal? Check.)  I can feel OK about these couple of slip ups because I know that my next meal will be chock full of veggies, and my next workout will kick my butt.

So, as long as my good choices outweigh my not-so-good choices, I feel confident in knowing that there’s always tomorrow!

Do you have workouts or meals that don’t go as planned for you? How do you deal with the slip up?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “What’s up with that?

  1. “It has taken me a long time to get to a place where I can be OK with not getting a full (read; at least 500 calorie burn or at least an hour of sweaty, nasty, dirty work) workout in. For many years I was an all or nothing kind of girl, nearly killing myself in the name of being “skinny enough”. But today I can say I live a healthy, balanced lifestyle … and I am happy!!” I could have written that paragraph. Happy to hear we’re both in a better place now. 🙂

    • Thanks, Heather! If I could frame your comment I would — It’s my very first one! Extra special because it’s from you – I’m a huge fan of your blog! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Sarah

    I wish I can be in the place you are at .. I have great difficulty to think positive about my self ..but every day is a new challenge and one day I will get there !! It’s awesome that you feel great !!

Leave a Reply

